FAIM History

The 1st International FAIM conference in 1991 resulted from the collaboration between the University in Limerick (UL) and the Virginia Polytechnic Institute. Prof. Munir Ahmad (then UL), and Prof. Bill Sullivan (then Virginia Tech.) have been central to the development of the FAIM Conference since its inception. Since 1991 FAIM has been hosted in many prestigious Universities on both sides of the Atlantic and, in recent years, in Asia.

The 29th FAIM conference will build on the success of earlier conferences held annually at various locations around the world. The list of previous FAIM conferences, by year and location, are as follows:

1991 University of Limerick, Limerick, Ireland

1992 Virginia Tech, Washington DC, USA

1993 University of Limerick, Limerick, Ireland

1994 Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, VA, USA

1995 University of Stuttgart, Stuttgart, Germany

1996 Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA, USA

1997 Teesside University, Middlesbrough, UK

1998 Portland State University, Portland, OR, USA

1999 Tilburg University, Tilburg, Netherlands

2000 University of Maryland, College Park, MD, USA

2001 Dublin City University, Dublin, Ireland

2002 Dresden University of Technology, Dresden, Germany

2003 University of South Florida, Tampa, FL USA

2004 Ryerson University, Toronto, ON, Canada

2005 University of Deusto, Bilbao, Spain

2006 University of Limerick, Limerick, Ireland

2007 Penn State Great Valley, Philadelphia, PA, USA

2008 University of Skovde, Skovde, Sweden

2009 University of Teesside, Middlesbrough, UK

2010 California State University, Oakland, CA, USA

2011 Feng Chia University, Taichung, Taiwan

2012 Tampere University of Technology, Helsinki, Finland

2013 University of Porto, Porto, Portugal

2014 University of Texas, San Antonio, TX, USA

2015 University of Wolverhampton, Wolwerhampton, UK

2016 Chonbuk National University, Seoul, Republic of Korea

2017 University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Modena, Italy

2018 Ohio University, Columbus, OH, USA